A Merry Thanksgiving – A Holiday Mishap Story

I’m taking a break in the midst of holiday madness to take part in Susanna Leonard Hill’s holiday mishap contest. The rules – write a children’s story about a holiday mixup, mishap, or mistake in 350 words or less.

Enjoy! And please hop over and check out the other entries.

A Merry Thanksgiving 

By Carrie Finison (334 words)

’Twas Thanksgiving evening, and all through the house

not a creature was hungry…not even a mouse.

The remains of our feast were tucked safely away

in the fridge to make sandwiches for the next day.

A vision of leftovers danced in my head—

sliced turkey and stuffing on warm toasted bread,

when all of a sudden, I heard on the roof

a prancing and pawing that sounded like…hoofs?

Then, from the kitchen, arose such a clatter,

I raced down the stairs to see what was the matter.

And what to my wondering eyes should appear,

as I flipped on the light…but a herd of reindeer!

At the table sat Dasher, with Donder and Vixen,

devouring some leftover turkey-day fixin’s.

Cupid, that devil, perched high on a chair

and gobbled the peas with a satisfied air,

while Dancer and Prancer stood huffing and puffing,

engaged in a tug-of-war over our stuffing.

In the corner old Comet was filling his belly

with all of our leftover cranberry jelly.

And, taking our pumpkin pie down from the shelf,

dressed all in fur, was the big man himself.

I spoke not a word — just what does one say

when Thanksgiving turns into a reindeer buffet?

They looked up, mid-bite, and I watched Mr. Claus

turn exactly the color of Rudolph’s bright schnoz.

I hated to see what was left of our feast

being gulped by that gaggle of gluttonous beasts.

But I thought about Santa — I thought of the years

he’d braved winter snowstorms to spread Christmas cheer

with the presents he left me, and that’s when I knew

there was only one thing I could possibly do.

I took out a knife and I sliced up that pie,

and I said to him, “Santa, I’m glad you dropped by.”

He laughed, and we feasted till late, almost dawn,

and then Santa, our pie, and the reindeer were gone.

But I heard him exclaim, ere he drove out of sight,

“’Twas the spirit of Christmas on Thanksgiving night!”

43 thoughts on “A Merry Thanksgiving – A Holiday Mishap Story

  1. Carrie, this is fabulous! I love the “visions of leftovers.” This is so clever and well done! How did you think to combine the holidays? I think this has great sales potential, as it could be used for a long time!

  2. Thanks, Deb! I actually started out with an old picture book idea I had with a Thanksgiving theme, but the rhyme was just not working and I was running out of time, so I thought it would be easier to do a parody on a known story. Which is good because I think the rules for this contest say Christmas/Hannukah/Kwanzaa story. So it all worked out. 🙂

  3. Wow! I love this, Carrie. I agree with Deborah (comment above). Your story is a take off on that famous poem but still unique– you made it your own. A great holiday mash up!!

  4. Your story is so creative and fun. I loved it! And, now I’m headed to the kitchen to figure out something to fix for dinner, you made me hungry.

  5. Carrie, this is terrific! Who knew the reindeer were such little piggies? Good luck in the competition and happy, happy holidays!

  6. Wow, Carrie, fantastic! You nailed the rhyme/meter! And what a fun and original idea to combine Thanksgiving and Christmas! I love “I spoke not a word – just what does one say when Thanksgiving turns into a reindeer buffet” 🙂 and the “color of Rudolph’s bright schnoz” 🙂 and Comet in the corner filling his belly with the cranberry jelly! So clever and fun! Thanks so much for joining in the holiday contest mayhem! 🙂

Leave a Reply

