Being Busy

It’s nice to be busy. I’ve been busy with life, writing, and reading in the last few months.

Summer was busy with vacations, stay-cations, and explorations. I chased lots of story ideas and even caught some in my butterfly net. A few of them flew away by the time I went to write them down. I’m hoping some will come fluttering back during Picture Book Idea Month in November.

We’ve been busy reading. Old faves like Mike Mulliganย by Virginia Lee Burton. New faves like Crankee Doodle by Tom Angleberger. As my 4-year-old said, we laughed our guts out over that one.

In September, I went to New York and stopped by the Brooklyn Book Festival. My husband came cheerfully along on this little side-excursion to our anniversary trip. It was so much fun to see some of the authors my kids and I have enjoyed so much. Jeff Smith (author of the Bone series) signed a book for my 8-year-old. We met Liniers at the Toon Books booth and he whipped off a little illustration for my 4-year-old. We saw Lois Lowry and Katherine Applegate speak. And Jasper Fforde! And Jarrett Krosoczka!

Now, I’m busy on a work-for-hire contract. I love it when I can get paid to write.

And I’m trying to write something for the Children’s Writer seasonal poetry contest.

And Susanna Leonard Hill’s Halloweensie contest.

And the Highlights Fiction contest.

And revise some picture book stories that have been sitting for way too long now.

What’s keeping you busy these days?

21 thoughts on “Being Busy

  1. Carrie, Terrific post! I just finished reading The One and Only Ivan, which I loved, so I’m a bit jealous you got to meet and/or hear Katherine Applegate speak. In terms of my own writing, I’ve been working on picture book revisions and sequels.

  2. You have been waaaay busier than Mom. She wishes she knew about that Brooklyn Festival, though…. She has already entered the CW Seasonal Poetry Contest, and she’s not even ready to THINK about the other two, yet…

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  3. It sounds as if you have been busy in wonderful ways. Good luck with the contests. I’d like to enter the Highlights one this year, but I better get started! In the meantime, I’ve been busy with crafting a couple of new stories and poems as well as revising and polishing other ones.

    Happy writing!

  4. What a lovely summer! I bet you are writing on a full tank now. Good luck with all those fun projects. I will be self-publishing a few books next year. We’ll see if that runs smoothly ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. I just read “Ivan” like Robin. My DD had checked it out of the library months and months ago, although it had so many “holds” on it that I couldn’t renew it and read it myself! Would love to go to Brooklyn fest one day. Good luck with all your exciting projects!

  6. That’s is a good busy- a productive busy.
    I have been busy with submissions. By November, I’m hoping to get some new stories out with PIBoIdMo kicking off the new writing season for me.

  7. Hi Carrie,
    I love that you make busy sound like a good thing. Busy always seems to mean overwhelming these days. Thanks for reminding us that busy can be a good, productive place.
    Liz

  8. Sounds like all good stuff, Carrie! I’m looking forward to generating some ideas in November, too.
    I have been busy. (Here it is the 29th and I’m just down to my 23rd emails!)
    I’m revising some manuscripts, finished my Halloweensie entry yesterday, and am contemplating a new picture book-I have an idea..that’s about it.

Leave a Reply

