Giveaway Winner & Sunshine Awards

ATCGW coverHow did we get to the middle of May? May has been full of promises (mine included) and seemingly lacking in time. So before any more time slips away from me, I want to take care of a few housekeeping details here on my blog.

FIRST – thank you so much to everyone who commented and shared your ideas for celebrating poetry month. In honor of the month, I am giving away a copy of the poetry anthology AND THE CROWD GOES WILD: A GLOBAL GATHERING OF SPORTS POEMS – signed by me and several others whose work appears in the anthology. And the winner (selected by Random.org) is…

DAMON DEAN

Damon is a fellow member of 12×12 and blogs at SevenAcreSky. Congratulations, Damon! Email me your address and I’ll send you the book.

sunshineawardSECOND – a while ago (OK, in January) not one but TWO kind people awarded my blog the Sunshine Award. Thank you so much to Tina Cho and Laura Sassi for highlighting my blog. Here are the award details:

This prize is given to “bloggers who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere.”  As an award winner, here are some suggestions to follow for this Award.

1.  Thank the person who gave this award in the beginning part of a post about it.
2.  Answer the questions below about your favorite things.
3.  Pass the award on to fabulous bloggers who bring sunshine into your life, link their blogs, and let them know you have awarded them in your post

These are some of my favorite things:
Favorite Color – do I have to choose? I’m partial to plummy purples, rusty oranges, blue-greens.
Favorite Animal – recovering horse-lover, but with my cat sitting on my lap right now, I have to say ‘cats.’
Favorite Number – 17
Favorite Drink – limeade
Facebook or Twitter – Facebook; don’t have the mental bandwidth for Twitter although (factoid) the founder of Twitter went to my high school
Your Passions – writing, reading, cooking
Giving or getting presents – both
Favorite Day – Sundays – I love how they stretch on and on
Favorite Flowers – lilacs

I’m passing the award along to two bloggers whom I feel fortunate to have gotten to know over the last year. They are both quietly doing fascinating things on their blogs and I am drawn in every time they post.

Lightbulb Books by Hannah Holt. You have to check out her recent “Newton’s Laws of Cake” posts.

bildebok by Cathy Ballou Mealey. I started following her when she wrote a poem series based on sculptures at the Decordova museum, an outdoor sculpture park near my house. Every poem she posts is a little gem.

Enjoy!

10 thoughts on “Giveaway Winner & Sunshine Awards

  1. I love your blog, Carrie…you so deserve the Sunshine Award!!!! Congrats to Damon on winning the book…and to Hannah and Cathy for being passed some sunshine.:) Time is flying by, isn’t it…we are into month 5 of 12×12…it’s hard to believe.

  2. Thank you for the sunshine Carrie! And congrats to Damon – enjoy the book!
    And although I recently went onto Twitter (oh-so-reluctantly) it has been an interesting window on the world. I hope you find yourself curious to explore it soon!
    I hope there are lots of blooming lilacs near you now – ours just opened this weekend and they smell heavenly!

  3. Hot-diggity-dog!!! I won! Excited to win this collection, and send it on!

    I’m really enjoying your comments and your blog, Carrie. Definitely worthy of the Sunshine Award. You’ve got a really good insight into this wonderful business, which I’m benefitting from.

    I really intended to follow and participate in the craft book read-along, got the book, but so much going on lately with my part-time (ha!) work I couldn’t keep up.

    Thanks for the giveaway, and keep on sharing.

    I will check out Hannah and Cathy’s blogs too…

    Thanks, Damon

    My Address is:

    Damon Dean

    601 Ashley 6E Rd

    Crossett, AR 71635

  4. Congratulations, Carrie! I love lilacs, too. They remind me of my childhood because they grew along the railroad tracks and their aroma battled the powerful fuel smells from the trains – and won!

Leave a Reply

