How I Spent Poetry Month…and a Giveaway!

NPM2013_logo_350April has FLOWN, a swirl of dandelion seeds dancing away on a warm spring breeze. It’s a wonderful month to celebrate poetry…the world is waking up from winter and beautiful things are springing forth from their long, dark slumber, delighting us every day.

I didn’t get to do as much as I wanted to for poetry month, but there’s no reason why these celebrations have to be contained within the month of April. Here are a few of the things I did. Leave a comment and tell me how you celebrated!

For me, the normally bright feel of April was darkened by the events of April 15, as I watched the Boston Marathon with my family at mile 23—a tradition of 35 years. The bombing and subsequent manhunt and lockdown of our towns felt surreal as I watched on TV, as I tried to explain to my 7-year-old what was happening, and as I responded to far-flung friends who wrote to check in. We’re now making our way back to “normal” — far easier for us than for those who were injured and lost family members and friends, and for that I am thankful. But still, I am not sure what normal is anymore. Poet Laureate Robert Pinsky responded to this feeling in the Boston Globe the week after the blasts, and shared this poem.

ATCGW coverA Poetry Giveaway…

As my final tribute to poetry month, I am hosting my first-ever GIVEAWAY on this blog. Up for grabs is a copy of And the Crowd Goes Wild: A Global Gathering of Sports Poems (which contains my poem ‘Superfan’) signed by me and several others included in the anthology. Just leave a comment to share how you celebrated Poetry Month to earn one point. (Bonus point if you are a follower of this blog!) I’ll tally the points and draw a winner.

20 thoughts on “How I Spent Poetry Month…and a Giveaway!

  1. Carrie, it sounds like you did a lot of fun stuff for Poetry Month. I love the lunchbox poems, which is something I definitely plan on doing in the future. By the way, if your son liked Greg’s spaghetti poem, there’s a video of it on NWR from Poetry Month 2012!

    I spent my PM a little more stressed and busy than I wanted to be, between my own posts and the end of March Madness and so on. Next year I plan on doing something different so I can sit back and enjoy what everyone else is doing. 🙂

    Of course the terrifying events of April 15 cast a pall on everything, but I’m just glad you and your family are okay.

    I already have ATCGW, so don’t enter me in the giveaway!

  2. Hi Carrie,

    It was a busy month: I participated in March Madness; blogged on Fridays, with longer posts about why to write and teach haiku and limericks; added a line to Irene Latham’s Progressive Poem, and a word to Heidi Mordhorst’s. I also visited Greg’s Gotta Book and Renee’s No Water River among others.

    I am glad you and your family were safe but I’m saddened to think your tradition, shared by so many others, will never feel the same again.

    I do not have And The Crowd Goes Wild, so please, yes, enter me in the drawing.

  3. My kids wrote some poems this month in homeschool, and my daughter entered Ken Nesbitt’s poem of the month contest. We watched some of Laura Salas’ video clips, and I’ve watched the writers’ poem grow throughout the month. How neat you’re also able to share your love of poetry with your son! Glad your life is back to “normal.”

  4. My celebration of poetry in April wasn’t as comprehensive as I had hoped it could be. But I did engage. Here’s what I did:
    > I too voted in the finals for March Madness…what a great experience. I was glad someone in the writing community (I think Renee’ LaTulippe) pointed me there, where I found there were rhyme-minded friends I had met elsewhere. What fun!
    > I wrote two rhyming picture book drafts, revised one, submitted one.
    > Wrote three poems: Rain Gauge, Acrobump, Felicia Bee.
    > Read poetry to my granddaughter.
    > Had friends and family critique poems.

    I too was saddened by the Boston bombing, so glad, Carrie, that you and yours are safe. My wife and daughter ran a smaller marathon in Little Rock in March so the stunning tragedy seemed so much closer. I continue to pray for those hurting. No one will ever in our country think of a marathon in the same way as before.

    Thanks, I would relish winning the book “And the Crowd Goes Wild!”

  5. That lunchbox idea is so cute, Carrie. I too enjoyed all of Renee and Greg’s posts and Laura’s.

    I’m sorry your lovely tradition has been ruined in Boston. Take care!

  6. Wow! How wonderful that your giveaway and the last line of the progressive poem are so in sync!

    It was a veritable plethora of poetry on the interwebs this month. I preferred visiting, reading and commenting when I was able to muster a coherent thought. I didn’t write much poetry (sadly) as it was also Autism Awareness/Acceptance month which also is a big commitment of activities and business for us. And of course the Marathon events rocked us all here in Boston.

    On to May, and a calendar that is already chuck-a-buck full of family events, holidays, and Oh – an NE SCBWI conference! 🙂

    • Cathy, I hadn’t visited the poem yet and rushed right over there when I read your comment. Wow! That’s really cool. I LOVE the ending that April wrote.

      I’m looking forward to seeing you at NE SCBWI. YAY!!!!!

  7. Hi Carrie, I celebrated on a less grand scale than I ordinarily do. In the past, I’ve hosted poetry readings at my library, gone to hear poets read at coffee houses and bookstores, read my own work at coffee houses. OH! Yes, I DID read some poems earlier this month at a coffee house celebration at a local library. (Obviously it’s been a long month!) I also started a poetry critique group and had our second meeting this month. And I returned often during the month to work on a rhyming picture book ms, which is horribly long, but not totally horrible, so I’ll be editing that in May. Well, thanks for asking. I didn’t realize how much I’ve actually done. 😉

    I think I’m going to love following your blog. Why wasn’t I here sooner? Hmmm…

  8. I had a lovely poetry month. I shared Pattie Schnetzler’s Earth Day Birthday with two local kindergarten classes. I learned that Spellbound wanted my 400 word dragon poem for their summer issue, and that my critique buddy and dear friend Kathy Doherty and I will each have a poem in the same issue of Highlights Hello magazine for babies this fall. I entered March Madness and, although I went out in the first round, I had fun following the “authletes.” I posted a poem on David L. Harrison’s site, and signed up for his workshop at the Highlights Barn in September. I submitted a poem/pb to my critique group, and I am working on another one. I read the interview with Joyce Sidman on the No Water River blog, and commented how her book Dark Emperor spoke to my pueblo students who come from a culture without a written language. And now I’m visiting Carrie’s terrific site!

  9. Hi Carrie, It was a busy poetry month for me. I too voted all through March Madness, visited all sorts of blogs referred by #NaPoWriMo on Twitter, and Renee’s and Greg’s blogs as well. In addition, I wrote and posted a poem each day (mainly children’s and haiku), throughout the month on my blog at http://donnalsadd.wordpress.com. I, too, am happy to hear that you and yours were safe.

Leave a Reply

