Kidlitosphere Progressive Poem – Day 9

bricks.3In celebration of National Poetry Month, today I’m doing my bit by adding a line to the Kidlitosphere Progressive Poem. The idea started with Irene Latham. The poem started with Amy Ludwig VanDerwater, and tomorrow it will continue at Linda Baie’s TeacherDance blog. The other stops are listed on the sidebar, so follow along and enjoy watching it grow!

As I prepared this post, I thought a lot about what  the middle of this poem, or any poem, does. I don’t have to set the tone or decide the topic or theme — that’s set up at the beginning of a poem. I don’t have to bring the poem to some sensible conclusion or work in a twist or ‘a-ha’ moment — those responsibilities fall to those who will conclude the poem at the end of this month. Middles are about expanding, and exploring. They emphasize, and repeat. They can sometimes be about changing direction.

This poem is starting to unfold itself. It’s about writing. (Trust a bunch of writers to write a poem about writing!) It’s about words as dancers, each with its own meaning and rhythm. This started out as a ‘private pirouette, a solitary samba’ but is this just journaling? Or will it become public? Will there be an audience for these words? Will they work together to create a whole — a whole that is trained and shaped by the writer as choreographer? I’m curious to see where this middle leads us.

When you listen to your footsteps
the words become music and
the rhythm that you’re rapping gets your fingers tapping, too.
Your pen starts dancing across the page
a private pirouette, a solitary samba until
smiling, you’re beguiling as your love comes shining through.


Pause a moment in your dreaming, hear the whispers
of the words, one dancer to another, saying
Listen, that’s our cue! Mind your meter. Find your rhyme.

Twirl it away, Linda!

Giving Away Poetic Goodness!

In honor of Poetry Month, I’m hosting my first-ever GIVEAWAY on this blog. Up for grabs is a copy of And the Crowd Goes Wild: A Global Gathering of Sports Poems (which contains my poem ‘Superfan’) signed by me and several others included in the anthology. Here’s what you need to do to enter the drawing:

  • Earn 1 point: Leave a comment with a suggestion for a fun way to mark Poetry Month
  • Earn 1 point: On my April 30th post, share what you did to celebrate Poetry Month
  • Bonus point if you are (or become) a follower of Story Patch.

I’ll tally the points and draw a winner after April 30.

So…how DO you plan to spend Poetry Month?

46 thoughts on “Kidlitosphere Progressive Poem – Day 9

  1. Ooh, I love that every third person is following the meter Matt set up with his line. This is getting good! Excellent line, Carrie. This poem has a looooong middle, so anything can still happen. 🙂

    (I already have ATCGW, so don’t add me to your giveaway.)

  2. Such a fun idea, progressive poems! This poem is beautiful so far. In honor of poetry month, for homeschool, today I had my daughter read poems on Ken Nesbitt’s web site, and then she wrote her own poem for his April contest and submitted it. I was very proud of her for writing her first 3 stanza rhyming poem! (a 5th grader)

  3. Thanks tinamcho for enjoying the PP and for helping your daughter with her own poet journey. I am going to check out Ken Nesbitt’s contest, which I had forgotten about.
    Carrie, I love your line and your explanation. Your post reminds me of watching DWTS and seeing the background clips featuring all the practice they do to create, learn and polish a dance in so few days. Well, it is like writing poems. Hard work, but something beautiful or moving at the end is possible. And so much variety, so many levels. I like this dancing metaphor.

  4. Carrie,
    Love your line! And I like that you kept the rhythm going!

    I am enjoying receiving poems each day in my email. I signed up to receive kids poems from Greg Pincus’s site for 30 poets in 30 days, and from poets.org.

  5. You’ve added some great ‘glue’ to the poem’s direction, Carrie. I love ‘hearing’ people speak in a poem. I read the poem more than once yesterday, wondering, wondering what I would receive. I liked hearing about your thoughts about the middle, too. Here I go…

    • LOL, Tabatha — I did try to end on something that wouldn’t be impossible to rhyme with. Actually, I originally ended with ‘cue’ but thought that would be locking it in too much since we already have ‘too’ and ‘through.’

  6. Listen! Just like words to be so demanding. Linda leads to me. Ooh, no, where will this middle expand to. Am I up to the challenge?

  7. I like what you’ve done to the poem. It’s turning out deliciously. Is it lame that I’m not doing anything for poetry month. We already read quite a bit of poetry. Maybe I should make it my goal to do more poetry critiques this month. Well, anyway happy poetry month to you!

  8. Pingback: Circus time! Progressive Poem 2013 | Catherine Johnson

  9. Pingback: 2013 Progressive Poem | Write. Sketch. Repeat. — Katya Czaja

  10. Pingback: How I Spent Poetry Month…and a Giveaway! | Story Patch

Leave a Reply

