National Poetry Month Starts Now…and a Giveaway!

NPM2013_logo_350Today marks the start of National Poetry Month. I’ve been thinking about how I’d like to bring more poetry into my life this month. The Academy of American Poets has a list of suggestions on their site.

Here are some things I plan to do this month:

  • April 3: Read the final two poems (and vote for one!) in the March Madness poetry tournament over at Think Kid, Think.
  • April 9: Participate in the 2013 Kidlitosphere Progressive Poem, which starts today, April 1, at Amy Ludwig VanDerwater’s blog. (See the sidebar for a complete schedule.)
  • April 18: Celebrate Poem in Your Pocket day.
  • Read, read, read, plenty of poetry books.
  • Post (I hope) some poetry here on my blog throughout the month.
  • Put a poem or two in my son’s lunchbox. I’m open to suggestions for this one. My first thought was ‘Peanut-Butter Sandwich’ by Shel Silverstein (for obvious reasons) but it’s a little long. Will keep thinking about this one.
  • Write a poem on the pavement. There’s a good stretch of sidewalk by our house. It’s practically begging for a poem.

ATCGW coverAnd finally…this month I’ll be spreading the poetry love around by hosting my first-ever GIVEAWAY on this blog. Up for grabs is a copy of And the Crowd Goes Wild: A Global Gathering of Sports Poems (which contains my poem ‘Superfan’) signed by me and several others included in the anthology. Here’s what you need to do to enter the drawing:

  • Earn 1 point: Comment on this post to suggest a fun way to mark Poetry Month OR suggest a poem to include in my 7-year-old’s lunchbox.
  • Earn 1 point: Comment on my April 30th post and share what you did to celebrate Poetry Month
  • Bonus point if you are (or become) a follower of Story Patch.

I’ll tally the points and draw a winner after April 30.

So…how DO you plan to spend Poetry Month?

23 thoughts on “National Poetry Month Starts Now…and a Giveaway!

  1. Hi Carrie, Well as you know I am no Poetry buff, but I did find this quite amusing and am sure your kids will too.

    Food Fight by Kenn Nesbitt
    We’d never seen the teachers
    in a state of such distress.
    The principal was yelling
    that the lunchroom was a mess.

    It started off so innocent
    when someone threw a bun,
    but all the other kids decided
    they should join the fun.

    It instantly turned into
    an enormous lunchroom feud,
    as students started hurling
    all their halfway-eaten food.

    A glob went whizzing through the air,
    impacting on the wall.
    Another chunk went sailing out
    the doorway to the hall.

    The food was splattered everywhere—
    the ceilings, walls, and doors.
    A sloppy, gloppy mess was on
    the tables and the floors.

    And so our good custodian
    ran out to grab his mop.
    It took him half the afternoon
    to clean up all the slop.

    The teachers even used some words
    we’re not supposed to mention.
    And that’s how all the kids and teacher
    wound up in detention.

    Sorry it’s a bit long. I am already a follower of your blog. I’ll be back on April 30th.. 🙂

  2. Sounds like an excellent plan! I loved reading the progressive poem last year – that was so cool and turned out so well! How about Carl Sandburg’s poem about the cat for your son? The fog crept in on little cat feet… well, that’s all I can remember actually 🙂 Or So much depends upon a red wheelbarrow… it’s way to early Monday morning for me to remember who wrote that… one of the W guys Walt Whitman? Ack! I’ll come back later if I remember and can find it. Oh, and I already have And The Crowd Goes Wild so no need to put me in the drawing!

    • Thanks, Susanna. The Red Wheelbarrow one is William Carlos Williams. I’ll have to look up the Carl Sandburg one you mentioned — I too am familiar with the first line and can’t remember anything else.

  3. Carrie, you’re putting me to shame – I only have one thing planned! I knew April was coming and I also knew it was going to be poetry month, yet I didn’t think of joining in the fun until last night! Last year I participated in A to Z Poetry Month, Blogging from A to Z, NaPoWriMo, and I was day 19 in Irene’s Progressive Poem! This year, I’m doing a Facebook challenge (I made it up last night)! I’ve asked FB friends to post a challenging word on my wall and I’d use the first one posted to write a poem. I think that’s about all I can manage this year because of work and other demands on my time! I look forward to reading your posts and I would definitely love to win a copy of And the Crowd Goes Wild!!

    Oh, I’ll be posting my daily poems on my blog, so come visit me – http://www.Loridegman.blogspot.com

  4. I really like your plan,
    I think it will be great.
    So count me in the fun
    For your April poem playdate!

    Perhaps your son would like Greg Pincus’ “I Went to the Farm Where Spaghetti is Grown” and you could send it with a mixed pasta salad!

  5. This is a cool list, Carrie. I especially like the idea of writing a poem on the pavement! I am part of the progressive poem and will be putting poems or excerpts on my FB page most days!

  6. Super post, Carrie! Thanks for all the info on Poetry Month…and I love what you are doing…especially the poem in your son’s lunch bag idea…perhaps you can put a different verse in each day if it is a long poem…with a poster at home where he can stick each verse so that, in the end, he will have the entire poem on one piece of paper.
    I didn’t know your work was in this book…Congrats, Carrie! And of course, I’d love to win a copy.:)
    I hadn’t given much thought to how I will help celebrate Poetry Month…I guess I will have to put on my thinking cap. I’ll be in Chicago in less than two weeks…maybe I should write a little poem for my new grand-baby to be.:)

  7. How about Jellyfish Stew by Jack Prelutsky? I think your son would like it!

    Jellyfish Stew

    Jellyfish stew,
    I’m loony for you,
    I dearly adore you,
    oh, truly I do,
    you’re creepy to see,
    revolting to chew,
    you slide down inside
    with a hullabaloo.

    You’re soggy, you’re smelly,
    you taste like shampoo,
    you bog down my belly,
    with oodles of goo,
    yet I would glue noodles
    and prunes to my shoe,
    for one oozy spoonful
    of jellyfish stew.

    I guess it IS long, but if you write small, it would fit! 😀

  8. I meant to post here at the beginning of the month! I’m enjoying the comments and the shared poems 🙂 Even saw someone who posted at 5:29 am! I’m making a special effort this year for poetry month on my blog with a book giveaway and interviews with four children’s authors who write poetry. If I win your book I’ll donate the un-autographed copy I already have.

Leave a Reply

