March Madness Thoughts – and a Poem

Madness2013BlackBlueThe March Madness children’s poetry tournament continues over at Think Kid, Think but…without me. I was edged out in the first round by a wonderful and witty poem from my critique group partner, Penny Parker Klostermann. Thank you so much to everyone who read and voted. I had a great time preparing for the tournament and writing my poem. If you have time and want to read more, visit Think Kid, Think today,where round 2 voting is underway.

Ed DeCaria the (evil) genius behind March Madness has also launched a Kickstarter campaign to raise funds for his next idea: turning the March Madness poems into a book, and a game.

In the meantime, I thought I would share one of my “outtakes” from the tournament. My assigned word was ‘parse’ and I came up with two poems for this word. I agonized over which one to send and ended up choosing “Notes on an Eighth-Grade Breakup” as a topic with more kid-appeal. The other I give you below. My loose inspiration for this was Mr. Collins, the insufferable clergyman from Pride and Prejudice who seemed happy to pass judgement on everything and everyone around him. Yeah, this guy: mrcollins

carson

And speaking of passing judgement…best of luck to my critique group partners, Bill, Penny, Renée, and Liz, who are competing in round 2 of March Madness. I’ll be reading (and voting) for you!

9 thoughts on “March Madness Thoughts – and a Poem

  1. Ha! Funny, Carrie. Sorry about the contest but you made a good showing. Mr Collins always cracks me up. Favorite line is when he’s showing off his house and describes the staircase: not too narrow. Don’t know why but that whole bit makes me laugh– so absurd.

  2. I adore this poem! As I said elsewhere, it’s like a tribute to Gilbert & Sullivan with that fantastic rhythm and vocabulary – homilies and anomalies? Wonderful! Both you and Penny deserved to move on – darn that fate!!

    Oh, Mr. Collins. I always think of the word “barouche” when I think of him.

Leave a Reply

