My Poem and Interview at No Water River

I’m so honored to be sharing my poem “Idunno” at Renée LaTulippe’s poetry blog, No Water River today. Please stop by and check it out. If you haven’t explored No Water River yet, you are in for a treat. Renée is collecting videos of children’s poets reading their work. The library she has created is an amazing and totally unique resource. Not only does it include a video of each poet reading his or her poem, but also an often-hilarious “Snickerview” with the poet, and for teachers, some really great extension activities that can be used with each poem. A few of my favorites are Julie Larios reading the lovely “No Strings Attached,” Amy Ludwig VanDerwater reading “Spring Sheep” (with sheep listening in), and David L. Harrison reading “Cookie,” with interview written entirely in cowpokese.

Renée has also started to put together a library of her own dramatic readings of classic children’s poems. I love her rendition of Jabberwocky, complete with crazy hat and matching dress, straight out of Alice.

On top of all that, Renée is an amazing poet herself. Her poetry collection LIZARD LOU just won the silver medal for poetry in the Moonbeam Children’s Book Awards.

As part of my interview with Renée, she challenged me to write a rhyming couplet using the word ‘geography.’ I do love an assignment and a deadline, and right after I finished tearing my hair out, I came up with an idea. Phew, that’s done, I thought. Nope. ‘Geography’ couplets have been rattling around in my noggin ever since, so I’m posting a few of them below. Tell me which one is your favorite, and click on over to No Water River to read more.

The Effects of Global Warming

What we study today as our nation’s geography

May soon be more properly called ‘oceanography.’

Writer’s GPS

What will I write today? Something I’ll find

In the unmapped geography inside my mind.

Donner’s Downfall

Geography wasn’t his strong suit;

And so, Donner chose the wrong route.

18 thoughts on “My Poem and Interview at No Water River

  1. “claps” yay that was great, Carrie. I popped over to Renee’s and loved your video clip reading and your Geography couplets. So you love Margaret Mahy’s poems, (I left a comment on Renee’s blog about that). It was really lovely getting to know more about you. I know only to well I am in good hands in our critique group.

  2. Carrie, wow! You really know how to make a host feel special, even if it should be the other way around. This post is too nice for words, and I really appreciate it — I will follow your lead the next time I’m a blog guest.

    I love your geography couplets and am glad they came easily, right after you finished tearing your hair out. 🙂

  3. Can’t wait to read your post at the amazing Renee’s, and love your couplets. They are all wonderful, but since I spent a week or two every summer near Donnor Lake when I was a child I have to pick the last as my favorite 🙂

  4. Great poem & interview, Carrie! I popped over to NWR & commented there. The extra couplets here are a nice bonus. 🙂

Leave a Reply

