Poetry Month 2014

Spring hasn’t quite reached us here in New England, but Poetry Month has. Here are a few of the ways I plan to bring more poetry into my life this month:

  • rhypibomo-participant-badgeAll month long I will be participating in RhyPiBoMo, a challenge hosted by Angie Karcher. During this challenge I will read a rhyming picrture book daily, write a poem daily, and draft a rhyming picture book. It will be a challenge for sure, but a fun one, and Angie has some fantastic guest posters and prizes lined up. It’s not too late to join in – you can register through April 16.
  • April 5: I’ll be adding a line to the 2014 Kidlitosphere Progressive Poem, which starts today over at Charles Waters’ blog.
  • April 9: Read the final two poems (and vote for one!) in the March Madness poetry tournament over at Think Kid, Think.
  • April 24: Celebrate Poem in Your Pocket day.
  • I’ll be posting reviews of rhyming picture books on Fridays as part of Perfect Picture Book Friday.
  • I’m planning to make a special effort to share poems and write poems with my kids this month.

What will you do for Poetry Month? I’d love to hear your ideas.

10 thoughts on “Poetry Month 2014

  1. I’ll be following March Madness, too–I made it to round 2 this year!–and participating in David L. Harrison’s word of the month poetry challenge on his blog. Personally, April 1st is my last chemo treatment for the breast cancer I found in December, so hopefully my brain will clear and I will write a poem every day in April to celebrate!

    • I saw your poems, Deborah! They were great. I’m sorry to hear you’ve been going through chemo – glad for you that it is almost over. What a tough winter for you – but spring is (finally) here…

  2. What a busy poetry month for you! This coming week my son and I will study haiku, and he will write one for homeschool.

  3. I always admire your writing productivity, Carrie! I need to come hang out here and hope it rubs off. As it is, I may dedicate May or June as my personal poetry months to hopefully get some poems going for a collection. And I can’t wait to get back to the Garage in a couple weeks! Good luck with everything you’re doing!

Leave a Reply

