Library Harvest – 3/18/14

bookharvest_3_18_14

I scored big at the library today. The New Books shelf was fully loaded — and I happily unloaded it right into my bag. Have you read any of these, or any other new books you loved? (The one in the middle is Crankenstein by Samantha Berger and Dan Santat, which I can’t wait to read.) Down in the right corner is Lulu and the Duck in the Park by Hilary McKay, which my 5 year old is enjoying as a read-aloud, lately. It’s a very sweet series that is helping me get my mind around chapter books as a genre.

Speaking of new books…I am enjoying the discussion over in the Debut Picture Book Study Group. This is a Facebook group dedicated to studying picture books by first-time authors (not author illustrators). If you like talking plot structures, voice, and character arcs, come and join in!

10 thoughts on “Library Harvest – 3/18/14

  1. Ooh, what a haul! And what a great library to have such a selection! My library is great in that it CAN get anything you ask for (usually) but it generally doesn’t have much to begin with because it’s so small!

  2. I love a good library harvest. I feel bad when I end up borrowing all of the new books leaving it empty. I just can’t help myself. But I make sure I return them asap so children can enjoy them. That is my writer’s confession. Please forgive me. :)

  3. I agree with Romelle – I rush through my new releases to get them back into kids’ hands ASAP! My kids rarely want to read PB’s with me anymore (sniff…) Enjoy your reading and snuggling time!
    What is the green tree between Hank Finds an Egg and Lulu?

    • That’s one we own, actually – The Big, Wet Balloon by Liniers, it’s in the Toon Books series. We met him at the Brooklyn Book Festival and he signed it for my daughter and drew an adorable cartoon under the inscription. :-)

  4. Is that the rack at the library, or at your house? Either way, it’s plumb full of great books! We own the Leo Timmer’s one, my son loves his bright illustrations.

Leave a Reply

