My Favorite Contests – 2014

blueribbonI’ve been watching the relentless countdown to Christmas on my kids’ Advent calendar, feeling at once underprepared and overly ambitious about the turn of the New Year. As a token toward begin organized for 2014, I started to fill in some dates on my submissions spreadsheet. (That sounds more impressive than it actually is, folks.) I thought I’d share a list of my favorite contests for picture books, children’s poetry, and children’s magazine fiction.

Have I won any of these contests? No. But I love entering them because, for me, the process of getting ready for a contest deadline often brings out the best in my writing. (Or as my husband might say, a wild raging beast that wants to win, win, WIN.) And those non-winning entries can be repurposed. One piece I submitted to a Children’s Writer contest didn’t win, but I turned it into a rebus and sold it to Highlights. My Barbara Karlin entry from last year didn’t win, but did (with some revision) land me an agent.

This is by no means a complete list. Please leave a comment if there are other picture book/short story-focused contests you know of for 2014.

Ongoing

Children’s Writer contests
Children’s Writer magazine holds 3-4 contests each year. Entry is free to subscribers, $15 for nonsubscribers. Recent contests included Seasonal Poetry, Kindergarten Stories, Young Adult Short Stories, and Middle Grade Mysteries.

Susanna Leonard Hill’s contests
Susanna runs contests on her blog about 3 times per year. They are free to enter and prizes have included critiques from agents, editors, and published authors, free books, and more. These are usually for short children’s stories from 100-350 words.

January

Highlights Fiction Contest
This yearly contest for magazine stories usually has a theme. This year it’s holiday stories up to 800 words. No entry fee and the prizes are drool-worthy – tuition to a Founders Workshop or $1,000.

RateYourStory Contest
(ADDED) This new contest from Rate Your Story includes categories for picture book, novel/novella, and “everything else.” Prizes include cash, critiques, and memberships to Rate Your Story. Free entry for members, a very reasonable $5 for non-members.

February

Pacific Northwest Writers Association
This contest allows entries in every category of children’s literature. You do not have to be a member of PNWA to enter. There is an entry fee, but the nice thing about this contest is that the fee includes two critiques on your manuscript.

March

NAESP Contest
UPDATED: I just found out that this contest is NOT being offered in 2014. [This contest for picture books and chapter books actually offers the opportunity to have a book published by Charlesbridge Publishing. It could be a good chance to get your manuscript out of the regular slush and into the presumably better odds of contest slush.]

Barbara Karlin Grant
For SCBWI members. This prize for picture book manuscripts offers a grant of $2,000, plus bragging rights to all your writer friends.

March Madness
If you enjoy the gut-wrenching agony of having to produce a passable poem containing an assigned word in a short span of time, then this contest is for you. If not, it’s fun to follow along, at least.

April

Golden Quill Poetry Contest
ADDED: As part of her Rhyming Picture Book Month challenge, Angie Karcher is hosting a contest for rhyming poetry. Click the link for details. Prizes are scholarships for one of three online picture book writing courses.

May

Southwest Writers Conference Contest
This contest offers a category for picture books as well as middle grade or YA. Open to nonmembers. There is an entry fee and I believe you can pay a bit extra to get a critique but it’s not posted in the rules right now. It could also be a good chance to get your work in front of an editor, depending on who the judge is that year.

June

Hunger Mountain – Katherine Paterson Prize
I have not entered this one, but it seems like a great opportunity to get some work out there, and something nice to add to your query letters if you win. Caveat – they do publish the winning entries in the magazine, so probably best not to submit a picture book manuscript.

July

Cheerios Spoonfuls of Stories
(DEADLINE CORRECTED: Thanks to Mandy for the correction on the submission date.) Sadly, I have never been able to enter this fantastic contest. The winning prize includes $5,000 and a publishing contract with Simon & Schuster. Talk about launching your career! But they accept only completely unpublished writers, so if your writing has been published in any way, and you have been paid for it, you are disqualified. Bummer.

August

Pockets Fiction Contest
(ADDED: Thanks, Susanna, for reminding me of this one.) This contest is for children’s magazine fiction. The website says that they will begin accepting stories in March, with a final deadline of August 15 – plenty of time to get entries in!

Shabo Award
The website description reads: “The contest is open to writers with a ‘nearly there’ manuscript who have not yet published a picture book.” The prize is tuition to a day-long master class and follow-up session to polish your manuscript. OK, so I live nowhere near Minnesota, but if I won this I would seriously consider a visit!

September

Lee & Low New Voices Award
(ADDED) This is a great contest for picture book writers of color. Award is a cash prize and a publishing contract with Lee & Low. I’m not eligible for this one, but if they ever open up the award to writers of Italian/German/Dutch descent, I’d be all over it.

Contests specific to New Englanders or New England SCBWI:

January

PEN New England – Susan P. Bloom Children’s Book Discovery Award
Guidelines (UPDATED)
Open to picture books, middle grade, and YA. New England writers only. Sorry, rest of the country. We like to keep ourselves to ourselves here in New England.

April

New England SCBWI – Ruth Landers Glass Writers Scholarship
Open to all types of children’s literature. The prize is free tuition for one day to the New England SCBWI conference.

December

New England SCBWI – Peg Davol scholarship
This is a new prize that was announced in the regional newsletter. The prize, open to picture books, will be awarded to one pre-published author and one published author. Winners will receive a manuscript critique before the regional conference, and in addition a free critique at the conference. (Must register for at least one day at the conference.) I missed the deadline in 2013, but will keep an eye out for it in 2014!

16 thoughts on “My Favorite Contests – 2014

  1. What a great list, Carrie! And I’m honored to be included amongst the likes of Highlights and Children’s Writer :) I have entered quite a few of these over the years. I’m like you – I like the process of getting a ms ready and having a deadline. Pockets Magazine has a contest in August, I think, which is also a fun one I’ve entered a couple times.

    • Good point about Pockets, Susanna! I will add it to the list. I’ve never entered, mostly because I’ve never seen an issue of Pockets and I don’t have a feel for what kind of stories they publish. It’s on my to-do list to get some back issues!

  2. Carrie, this is an extremely useful list. Thank you! I also love contests, and for writers trying to build their writing resumes contests are invaluable. I’ve never won a contest (sadly), but I’ve been a finalist in a few and I think it helped get me my agent. (And if there was ever any doubt about why one might enter a contest, I can think of two words: Jay Asher. Jay Asher’s career took off when he won the SCBWI WIP grant. You never know. It could happen. :)

  3. So helpful to have this organized by month Carrie! I enjoy contests not only for the helpful pressure of meeting a deadline, but also to be able to compare my creation to the winners and see what skills I need to improve for future entries. Good luck to everyone who submits entries!

Leave a Reply

